well actually

on monday one of the doctors in our ped office called to say that monstergirl definitively does not have celiac disease.  i was having a shit day so that was great news.  several hours later she called back and opened with ” you are not going to believe this but….”  that ranks right up there with an “interesting” during an ultrasound or a “i just need to go get the doctor.”  apparently there was a 4th bloodtest run and the results just showed up on her desk many hours later.  that 4th result was an unequivocal positive.  isn’t that rich?

the 4th result doesnt mean she has celiac necessarily and she consulted with a pediatric gasteroentologist who thinks her results look pretty good.  so we’ll go see the ped GI and he’ll even help us interpret the food sensitivity results along with the celiac results.  i’m actually not super worked up about this at the moment i just thought it was worth sharing.  “you’re not going to believe this but….”  hah.

~ by complicatedmama on January 18, 2008.

6 Responses to “well actually”

  1. I think lines like that now set my heart racing as soon as I hear them. I am no longer able to cope with news delivered in this manner. I hope monstergirl’s appointment goes OK and you get more clarity on what is actually going on. Hopefully no more you’re not going to believe this lines will be heard.

  2. Ah yes, I know what you mean about “interesting” not being an adjective you want applied to you or your child by any doctor! (When my uterine perf scar was deemed “quite the puzzle” by several peris during my last pregnancy, all I could say was “Oh crap.”)

    I am hoping right along with you that it is not celiac. Keep us posted on what evolves.

  3. I hate it when a doctor starts a sentence with “You’re not going to believe this but…” I just want to say “Hmmm. Try me. I’m a medical freak.”

    I hope monstergirl’s appointment is helpful. Hang in there.

  4. I’m sorry. That’s terrible.

  5. Even if your doctor says your baby doesn’t need a gluten-free diet, even if she has a negative biopsy, you should not conclude that she doesn’t have gluten intolerance. You should do the research and put her on a gluten-free diet (a lot easier than it used to be). My blood tests were negative, my biopsy was negative, but my stool tests (which most doctors haven’t caught on to yet) at http://www.enterolab.com were positive. It has made an amazing difference in my life. I run an online discussion group for gluten intolerant members and I hear this story all the time. If you wait until all the tests become positive, much damage can be done.

  6. I just want to say that I read a ton of your blog last night and my heart was breaking for all that you’ve been through. I like to think there’s some rhyme or reason for all the shit that happens to us but I haven’t found one so far for anything I’ve been through let alone the crazy horrifying things you’ve dealt with. But with that said, you are an excellent writer. I think you need to write a book. The way you told your story was so clear and when you backtracked you never lost focus. People will read a blog when really bad shit happens to people but they keep reading when the writing is good!

    On another subject of this post, when I first realized something was wrong with my twin pregnancy, I had to be the one to point it out. The ultrasound was at 29 weeks and the baby weighed one pound while the other one was 2.5 – doctor was blase about it until I came back for another appointment 3 weeks later. Then he refused to tell me what was going on just that “Let’s hope we can get you to 34 weeks for the sake of the bigger baby.” I was like “HUH? What about the smaller one?” He had no response. And I didn’t make it to 34 weeks. Luckily my situation is improving all the time but doctors, many of them, have no fucking clue what they are doing no matter how confident they act.

Leave a Reply

 
