quickly

i’m about to go to bed but thought i’d write a quick post.  6 days of zoloft and i think i am feeling a bit better.  i feel a little lighter and a little less easily rattled.  placebo effect?  perhaps.  but who cares, i’ll take it. unless of course it’s only a temporary placebo effect.

anyway so i’m on 25 mg and the shrink said to go up to 50 after a week.  but he also said i should be on the lowest dose possible.  ?  i think i’ll just stay on 25 and see how it goes.

the weekend was actually really good.  we just stayed at the house and played in the snow.  the kids were great. the obnxoious woman’s kid got sick and she stayed with him quarantined down on the lower floor unit.  despite my typically unmeetable expectations, i had a really nice time.  that’s even despite the fact that we came back early so RM could fly off on a business trip AND that monstergirl caught the bug from the sick kid and blew chunks (literally) all over the place 30 minutes into our drive home.  fortunately nobody else got it and i haven’t been stuck with puking kids while RM is away.   bedtime then.

~ by complicatedmama on February 13, 2008.

6 Responses to “quickly”

  1. I know I’m taking over the role in the blogosphere as the resident druggie…but…Zoloft is one of the best SSRI’s. I’m really really sensitive to meds and I’m doing okay on it. I do think you should go up to 50 though. 25 is a really small dose. Zoloft is a drug that’s different from others. It doesn’t come in doses like 10 and 20 mgs like Lexapro. It starts at 25 and a lot of people take 100. I do really well at 50. Most doctors think 25 doesn’t do a whole lot. Just my opinion. I mean, sure, I haven’t been practicing medicine “legally” but I do see patients from my “office.” So trust me. Glad you’re feeling better anyway.

  2. I’m taking the same dose you were prescribed as well. Even weirder is the fact that I am also feeling better.

    Glad to hear it’s working (who cares if it’s a placebo effect!).

  3. I am happy to learn the meds are helping. Also glad to hear obnoxious mom was otherwised occupied with a sick child, and not baking a pie from scratch using wild berries she handpicked during a leisurely winter walk in the woods ;o) Hope monstergirl is feeling better…

  4. You gotta do, what you gotta do. I had terrible PPD after my son was born. Now I’m on top of it. This time I’m doing St. John’s Wort and 5HTP (occasionally). And lots of sunlight.
    Keep on truckin,
    ~Rita

  5. I’m glad you’re feeling better with the meds. ((Hugs))

  6. Zoloft rocks! I was on 50 mg for a couple of years starting when my girls were about 1 and 4. It really takes the edge off! I am off of it now and everything is good. It’s really tough when your kids are young. You’re tired and it’s hard to take a break from the day to day nonsense and just have fun with your kids. It’s also nearly impossible to have a moment to yourself. At that time I wasn’t really depressed, I was just PISSED OFF a good bit of the time. Zoloft made me more patient and just generally took the edge off. Before starting tx, my older daughter would ask me “are you happy mommy? Then why aren’t you smiling?” Zoloft brought the smiles back. Go up to 50 and enjoy. . .

Leave a Reply

 
