careful what you ask for

i’ve been tagged by bri at unwellness. here are the rules:

1. Grab the nearest book of 123 pages or more.
2. Open it to page 123.
3. Find the first 5 sentences and write them down.
4. Then invite 5 friends to do the same.

Upstream in the mornings. Downstream in the evenings. And the dull, sullen sound of the boatmen’s bamboo poles as they thudded against the dark, oiled boatwood. It was warm, the water. Greygreen.

-The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

okay so who should i tag this time? how ’bout delphi at eight million pieces, rosepetal at moksha, charmedgirl at a charmed life, becky at mommy wants vodka, and c. at my resurfacing.

i LOVED this book by the way. it takes place in india and is about an unforgettable pair of twins.

on another note, i was watching “the wire” last night, which i love not as much as the sopranos but enough to compare them, and was struck by this quote: aint no shame in holdin’ on to grief as long as you make room for other things too.” i dont have much to say about it. it just struck me.

i am feeling pretty good these days. yesterday afternoon i was starting to get a little panicky because the weekend was ending, Rocket Man was leaving town for three days, the house was a pigsty, the grocery shopping hadn’t been done, the next day was monday, no meals had been planned. while the situation did definitely suck, it only really sucked on a superficial level. i didnt get all deeply upset, if that makes sense. babybear just woke up so i’m just going to throw this up there. she is so damn cute lately, by the way, that i finally understand why people say things like, “you are so friggin adorable thati just want to eat you.”

~ by complicatedmama on March 3, 2008.

7 Responses to “careful what you ask for”

  1. Of course I’ll do it!

    I get panicky on Sundays, too. It makes me feel somewhat better that I’m not the only one.

  2. I totally understand. 4 kids, sick husband, baby who doesn’t want anyone but me..yep with you. Try to savor the good moments they will help you through the horrible ones.

  3. I read the god of small things years ago and put a gun to my head and I couldn’t tell you one thing about the book, except India. All I remember is that I loved that book.

    Are you still taking Z? Because if you are it seems to be working like a charm! Lexapro, on the other hand, failed me this week. Damn little pill full of broken promises. I want to up my dose a little but figure i should check with the doctor…

    Sundays are my worst insomnia nights. WORST. In my head I hear melissa manchester singing ” Please don’t let this feeling [weekend] end…”

  4. i LOVE that grief quote. LOVE IT!
    i am one of the slacker-commenters. i never seen to have the time (if i am checking blogs at work) and i never go back later when i am home and reply… but i love reading you. i think we are all comment-whores and want people to react/respond to our pouring out of our hearts.

    i will try and be better!

  5. I say that to my niece all the time. She’s one of those kids who I could literally just eat up. Cute!
    And the grief quote….how perfectly perfect is that? I’ll have to try and remember that only because I feel this freakish sense that, in order to let my dead son live on, I have to hold on to this grief that resides in me, that his death left me with. I can’t imagine the quote was in reference to deadbaby grief…they never are.
    Thanks for the tag ;o) Will get to it before I leave for vacation this week. I wish magazines worked for this kinda thing!

  6. the quote struck me too, it’s actually pretty perfect to keep in mind as we navigate through life.

    glad you’re feeling better!

  7. Thanks for tagging me – Delphi tagged me too and I did it!

Leave a Reply

 
