sobriety! go figure.

i’ve been sober since otober 13.  no alchohol, no recreational drugs, no pills (except zoloft of course).  so far it is way better than being unsober.  way better.

the best part is that i dont torture myself all the time anymore.  i still have a sadistic asshole of a superego thats for sure.  but i’ve taken away a tremendous amount of its ammunition.  (plenty left though, not to worry, i still have lots of good material for this blog if i would just turn off the idiot box and write but hey one thing at a time for chrissake).

i actually cant think of much else to say right now.  i feel… well, pretty good.  i have a new therapist that i see twice a week.  funny story:  back in august when i first went to see her, she basically took one look at me, arched an eyebrow and said something like, “The only way i will see you is if you come twice a week.”  And since i had recently tried snorting percocet (thanks for the idea nurse jackie), because a mere pot and alcohol buzz wasnt enough for me anymore, i wisely agreed that twice a week seemed appropriate to me.

gotta sign off now because littleurchintoddler clad in fuzzy footie pj’s just came to me and said, “you play zingo wif me mama?”  then she raced off and started putting away the blocks and said “i’m cleaning up so fast, are you done mama?”  what’s a mother to do?  play zingo course.

 

~ by complicatedmama on November 13, 2009.

9 Responses to “sobriety! go figure.”

  1. welcome back. Congrats on one month. I can completely relate to the alcohol portion of your sobriety. I know how hard it is, but I also know it is do-able. You will do it. Now, what else is going on in your life?

  2. So happy to hear from you. I had thought about you often because you made me realize something about myself. And that something was the I probably had a problem with pot. Since I was pregnant when I came to that realization I was sober and had been sober during the entire pregnancy but what you had the balls to write about has been a big factor in what has kept me completely sober since my child was born. She will be 7 months old in a week. I can’t thank you enough and I am so glad to hear you are doing well. Hope you start writing again.

  3. so good to hear from you again. write more!

  4. Really pleased to hear that you’re well!

  5. Have thought of you often, dear. Wonderful to hear from you and so excellent to hear about this milestone!

  6. I’m sitting her with a vodka cran, wishing I had a joint to suck back and slip away. I’ve only read your first post.

    As I drove to the liquor store to get the 40 of Vodka I apparently needed I felt low. I felt like someone that needed help. I’m not sure I’m ready for help or even if I want it, but it’s quite obvious I need it. So I’ll keep reading and hope your words will give me some strength.

  7. Welcome back. Write more 🙂

  8. Hey there! I’ve been following your website for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent job!

  9. I am in fact delighted to read this webpage posts which
    contains lots of valuable facts, thanks for providing these information.

Leave a Reply

 
